C.I.A. Platinum Member carmicael's Avatar

Talking the "BUYING A NEW PC", "UPGRADING MY PC", and "BUYING A NEW LAPTOP" thread

hi!

i've noticed that there is a new breed of istoryan here in the forums.

Class: Mr. I-need-a-new-PC
    Common Rank: newbie
    Typical Dialogue:
    hi! <fellow istoryans, you geeks here in the computer hardware forums, yeah, you geeks!nya nya nya, geeks!>, i'm a beginner here <but you are still geeks, nya nya nya>, and i need a new PC <laptop, or an upgrade>. could you please post the specs that i need <cause i'm too LAZY to look for similar threads as this>?

[P.S.] i'm not going to post my budget so you can throw in the best hardware <painstakingly> you can find, then, after that, i'm going to tell you that that was too rude of you cause i can't afford the price
    Frequency of Appearance: *Frequently nowadays

so, to help out (though i'm not sure how much of a help this would do)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

STEPS: (now, i'm doing this as SIMPLE as i can and THESE ARE PLAINLY SUGGESTIONS, i'm not imposing any rules, as i have no grace to do so...)

1. Know what you want. Plan things before doing them.
    2. If you want prices, go call your local stores (There is a separate thread for this list). If you find prices confusing, proceed to STEP 4. (99.99% of the time, you'd be done here)
    3. Go search for similar threads in the FORUM. There's a function that's called a SEARCH function. It is used to SEARCH. (99.99% of the time, you wouldn't need to do STEP 4)
    4. If you can't find similar threads, or still aren't satisfied, then please post a thread, asking kindly for help. please be kind enought to include these in your request: [A]BUDGET [b]CURRENT SETUP [C]WHAT WOULD YOU BE DOING [D]"Pretty Please.." (Okay, I was way overboard with [D], hmm, nah) (*i'd be suggesting the format near the end of the thread)